Sockbridge and Tirril Community
Sockbridge & Tirril are two small conjoined villages in the Eden valley on the B5320 between the historic market town of Penrith, Gateway to the North Lakes, and Pooley Bridge.
Our village is just 2 miles northeast of lake Ullswater, the Eden Valley, Haweswater, Swindale and the Pennine Fells are within 10 miles of our village.
Tirril was home to John Slee (1754-1828), he was a celebrated mathematician who tutored Cambridge undergraduates at The College during their vacations.
Tirril's Quaker Meeting House (now Quaker Cottage) was built in 1731 by Thomas Wilkinson. The grass area at the front of the cottage contains the remains of some sixty people. These include those of the artist, Charles Gough, who perished on Helvellyn in 1805. His body lay undiscovered, attended only by his faithful his dog whose survival was attributed to his devouring his master’s corpse. The incident gave a poignant theme for artists and poets, such as William Wordsworth.
The Wordsworth family are associated with the villlages, Wordsworth’s grandfather came from Yorkshire to take up the post of 'Clerk of the Peace' and managing agent for Lowther Estates. He lived in the village of Sockbridge at Sockbridge House (now named Wordsworth House).
William Wordsworth’s brother, Richard, once owned the Queen’s Head Inn.
After Richard's death, his young son, John, inherited the Inn, and William Wordsworth helped manage it until John came of age. It was eventually sold by John to pay for his education. The indenture still hangs on the pub wall.
The 1719 Inn boasts an unbroken record of serving beer to the public which is not suprising with the atmosphere created by its 24 inch thick stone walls, original stone floors, wood beams and inglenook fireplace.